The Honeymoon House
Circa 1905 "hotelette"
The Shutze Studio design team had fun renovating this small cottage built in 1905. In historic paperwork it was called the Honeymoon House, and the name stuck. Removing three layers of flooring, the original hardwood floors finally surfaced, and in one part of the building, old local newspapers from 1939 & 1940 were discovered under linoleum. The idea to use the old newspapers as wallcovering in the bedroom was natural and provides guests with an extremely authentic and local experience. The cabinets were skirted with fabric inspired by old French grain sacks and the floors patched using reclaimed tin, just like they did in the early 1900s. At the coffee bar, reclaimed boxcar flooring to makes the countertop. In the bathroom, a monkey toile wallpaper harkens to days past and the existing clawfoot tub was refinished. Custom barn doors made from raw reclaimed oak provide added separation for guests traveling together.